skip navigation

Eight Minnesotans Named to U.S. Men's Olympic Roster

01/03/2014, 9:30am CST
By Minnesota Hockey Journal

Olympic dreams came true during the 2014 Winter Classic with the announcement of the 2014 U.S. Olympic Men's and Women's hockey rosters. A total of 11 Minnesotans were named to Team USA, set to compete in Sochi, Russia this coming February.

On the men's side, familiar faces Zach Parise (Bloomington) and David Backes (Spring Lake Park) return from the 2010 Olympic team that took silver in Vancouver. Joining them in representing the State of Hockey are: Justin Faulk (South St. Paul), Paul Martin (Elk River), Ryan McDonagh (Mounds View), T.J. Oshie (Warroad), Derek Stepan (Hastings) and Blake Wheeler (Robbinsdale).

Gigi Marvin (Warroad) returns for the U.S. women's squad, while fellow Gophers Anne Schleper (St. Cloud) and Lee Stecklein (Roseville) make their Olympic debut.

The eight Minnesotans named to the men's team was the most of any state. Three set for the women's team came in tied for second with Wisconsin. Massachusetts had the most natives with five.

U.S. Men's Olympians

David Backes Spring Lake Park Spring Lake Park Minnesota State St. Louis
Zach Parise Bloomington Bloomington/Shattuck North Dakota Minnesota
Blake Wheeler Robbinsdale Wayzata/Breck Minnesota Winnipeg
TJ Oshie Warroad Warroad North Dakota St. Louis
Derek Stepan Hastings Hastings/Shattuck Wisconsin New York Rangers
Ryan McDonagh Mounds View Mounds View/Cretin Derham Hall Wisconsin New York Rangers
Paul Martin Elk River Elk River Minnesota Pittsburgh
Justin Faulk South St. Paul South St. Paul Minnesota Duluth Carolina

U.S. Women's Olympians

Gigi Marvin Warroad Warroad Minnesota
Anne Schleper St. Cloud St. Cloud Minnesota
Lee Stecklein Roseville Roseville Minnesota

*Table courtesy of Minnesota Hockey 

For the complete men's roster click here. For the women's roster click here.


Tag(s): Home