skip navigation

Title Run: State Tournament

08/23/2011, 3:13pm CDT
By MHJ Staff

The best hockey teams in Minnesota...

Jr. Gold A
Location: Duluth
Defending Champion: Edina
Last season Edina won three, one-goal games over Elk River, Eden Prairie and Burnsville to win the title at their home rink. With many of the same programs from the 2010 tournament having good seasons again this year, there should be some good matchups in Duluth. 

Jr. Gold B
Location: St. Louis Park
Defending Champion: Wayzata Gold
Wayzata is having another great season and, as the defending champion, looks to be the team to beat.
Youth 16 & U B 
Location: Chaska/Chanhassen
Defending Champion: Minnetonka
The story at this tournament will be Centennial, a team that has played in the championship game an amazing five of the six years the tournament has been held. The past four years they have finished second after bringing home the title in 2006.
Bantam A
Location: Virginia
Defending Champion: Woodbury 
Woodbury is among the top teams in the state again this year after winning their first-ever state Bantam A championship last season in a 2-1 game against Grand Rapids.
Bantam B
Location: Marshall
Defending Champion: Tartan
Having previously hosted B-level championships in the 1970s, Minnesota Hockey began hosting them again in 2005. Since that time, no Bantam B team has won more than a single championship. Wayzata has played for the championship three times, winning it once.
Peewee A
Location: Bloomington
Defending Champion: Edina
Edina has captured two of the past three Peewee A state championships, including last season. This brings the perennial hockey power’s total to seven Peewee A titles dating back to 1968.
Peewee B 
Location: Stillwater
Defending Champion: Edina Green
Edina Green captured the Peewee B championship last season, beating Edina White 3-0. While having two Edina teams playing against each other for the title may sound unique, it actually has been the case in two out of the last three state championship games, including last season and 2008. Edina was also represented in 2009, when they were upended by Elk River.
Girls 14 & U A
Location: Woodbury
Defending Champion: Edina
Edina won their second-ever 14 U A championship last year by beating Blaine 3-1 in the title game. The Hornets have another good team this year and will be looking to defend.
Girls 14 & U B
Location: Buffalo
Defending Champion: Wayzata
Wayzata might be the team to beat again this season, after capturing the title last season with a 6-0 win over Osseo Maple Grove.
Goal celebration

12 & U A

Location: Rogers
Defending Champion: Eden Prairie
Eden Prairie captured their first title last season, beating Edina 3-2 in the championship game.
12 & U B
Location: Grand Rapids
Defending Champion: Champlin Park
Another first-time champion was crowned last year at the 12 U B level, as the Rebels beat Chisago Lakes 1-0 for the state title.

Tag(s): Home